“If At First You Don’t Succeed…


Register for a second marathon.”

Last year I made my first attempt at completing a marathon. I covered 21 miles. It was the Air Force Marathon and I chose it because it was on September 17th: the day after I turned 50 and my father’s birthday. Dad served in the Army Air Corp which later became the Air Force. It was meant to be a way to celebrate turning the Big 5-0 while honoring my dad who died in 2003.

Not completing the marathon left me with some unfinished business…an unchecked bucket list item, if you will.  I did quite a bit of marathon shopping and I decided to register for The Little Rock Marathon. It’s on March 3, 2013 which means most of my high mileage training will take place in the winter, as opposed to last year’s 18 and 19 milers in 100 degree heat index.

The LRM offers participants a six-month training plan, along with a six-week build up. We are beginning Week 3 of the build up. The six month plan begins on…wait for it…September 17…

Dad’s birthday.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “If At First You Don’t Succeed…

  1. That is so cool. Meant to be.

  2. SusanM says:

    Nice one Pam! I look forward to following your progress this time around as well!

Leave a Reply

