My 2018 Volunteer Activity Edit


Happy New Year, Y’all!

Today I want to tell you about an action I took a few weeks ago. I mentally laid out my various volunteer roles and I made some decisions about how I’m going to spend my time in 2018. My activities are divided into church, serving on nonprofit boards, and miscellaneous organization work. Here’s what is looks like.

2018 commitments

And that’s it.

The ESL program hubs and I volunteered with for the past 12 years recently ended. I’m a “doer” and it would have been easy for me to find something to fill that space. But I am at a stage in my life where I’d rather do a few things really well than do a lot of things haphazardly.

Last year I took on a few too many multi-week commitments and I found myself getting burned out. Establishing my 2018 commitments on the front end will help me remember to say “no” to requests for additional ongoing service. I won’t decline opportunities serve in one-off activities, but I have enough going on to keep me occupied this year. These activities are on top of having a full-time job and a part-time coaching business. I also want to make sure I have space for my hobbies. Taking stock of my 2018 commitments and maintaining my boundaries will help me keep my schedule in check.

If you find yourself feeling overwhelmed, I invite you to do an inventory of your commitments. Is it time to pare things down?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment