20 Days of Wheat Free Living…and Sleeping


biscuit

Yesterday was 20 days. Twenty days without wheat. Not a cracker. Not a breadcrumb. Nada. Well, except for the tiny communion wafer I had on Sunday. I’m choosing not to worry about that.  In fact, yesterday I attended a business lunch where the main course was assorted wraps. I got two half wraps, unwrapped them and ate the contents like a salad. Where there is a will, there is a way.

It feels good to be this far along in my Abstain From the Grain emphasis. I’m keeping careful watch on my food plan for 100 days. My goal is for this to be automatic after that.

Wheat is said to be inflammatory. I know it will take a while for me to reap the full benefits of this way of eating, but I’m excited about the small changes that are already happening. The first thing I noticed is I no longer need Melatonin in order to fall asleep. I used to require 10 mgs of Melatonin AND a cup of Sleepytime Extra herb tea, the brew that contains Valerian Root. Now I’m sleepy when I’m supposed to be sleepy. It’s a beautiful thing. I mentioned this on the Wheat Belly Facebook page and Wheat Belly author Dr. Davis responded:

Very nice, Pam! Preliminary research suggests this may be due to unblocking the effects of the hormone, vasoactive intestinal peptide-1, or perhaps loss of the gliadin-derived peptides. No matter, it’s all poison!

I have no idea what that means. I’m just grateful to be able to fall asleep naturally after years of struggle. Oh, and I’ve lost seven pounds.

I’m looking forward to seeing what the next 80 days bring.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

