I joined a running club!


I’m not a joiner. I prefer working out solo to boot camps and fitness classes, so joining a running club last night was quite a big deal for me. And I loved it! The club, South Side Runners meets at a Blue Coast Burrito less than a mile from my home. I’ve known about it for a long time. I’ve lurked around its Facebook page. I even met a lovely member, J, at a race packet pick up last November. Hubs and I ate at the Blue Coast in December as a reconnaissance mission. It was Ugly Christmas Sweater night and everyone was so nice when I told them we were there to check them out. Hubs had run with them twice before while I stayed home to garden. So last night was my night. I joined hubs for my first ever outing with a running club.

I connected with J from the November packet pick up. She’s perfect for me. She’s a fellow half marathoner who doesn’t stress about her time, she’s just happy to be out there amongst the fitness community. She introduced me to other runners and during the pre-run announcements she reminded the leader to recognize new members. What a gem!

J’s following a Jeff Galloway running plan and her watch was set to beep at 30 second intervals. After a while we decided to run 30 seconds, walk 60 seconds, due my not being acclimated to the 90+ degree heat. Later, when the heat and hills told me to give up, J walked the incline with me.

Back at Blue Coast hubs and I grabbed dinner and hung out with the others. It happened to be the last night to order club tech shirts, so we each ordered one.

I’m all in.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I joined a running club!

  1. kelley says:

    I’m so glad you joined us. Welcome to our motley bunch of runners that we call “family”.

    • Pam Brown says:

      Thank you, Kelley! I’ll miss next week as that’s my mom’s birthday, but I’ll be back on July 9! Everyone made me feel so welcomed. It’s a great club, er, family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

