I Ran…


In the sun…

Without a jacket…

And it was wonderful.

I typically work out early in the mornings. Like 5:30 a.m. early when it’s cold and dark. Because I’m spending this quarter conditioning, my workouts have taken place in the gym. I miss the sun so much, I feel like a Cullen.

The office was closed yesterday in observance of Martin Luther King Day. I had a great plan for my day. I would go to the gym early and come home to work on a presentation I’m delivering on Friday. But when I awoke, hubs’ first words to me were, “The temperature is supposed to reach the upper 50s today. It’s a great day to workout outside before the next wave of cold hits tomorrow.”

Screw the plan. Screw the gym.

I decided to work on my presentation while I waited for the temperature to rise. I began my work at 6:00 a.m. By 1:30 I was finished, so off I went to the gym, not to go inside, but to hit the trail that begins behind the property. I wore a long-sleeve tech shirt but short sleeves would have been fine. I did a run/walk for 2.5 miles. I took it very easy as I’m continuing to deal with tendonitis in my left arch.

Do you see all of those shadows on the ground? They were made by the sun...an orb I've not seen in ages.

Do you see all of those shadows on the ground? They were made by the sun…an orb I’ve not seen in ages.

Kids got to enjoy the skateboard park without freezing.

Kids got to enjoy the skateboard park without freezing.

The trail and surrounding parks were packed with bikes, strollers, skates, skateboards and the humans who operated them. My fellow Vitamin D deficient friends were smiling and nodding to each other. Everyone seemed so relieved to be outside without freezing.

A couple holding hands, out for a stroll.

A couple holding hands, out for a stroll.

While I believe each day is a gift, yesterday’s gift was wrapped with a huge bow. It was a reminder that even though we have weeks of winter left, spring isn’t far behind.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Ran…

  1. Days like this give us hope of an early spring.

Leave a Reply

