I’m Stiff as Heck and I’m Not Going to Take It Anymore


yoga

If that quote is true, then I’m ancient.

My back and neck are tight. All the time. 24-hours a day. I see two reasons for this: I am a classic Type A and I don’t stretch. Stretching is sort of…slow. Type A’s don’t really do slow.

I am a member of Massage Envy, one of those discount, no frills places. I get a massage once a month and I try to see the same therapist for each visit. These aren’t relaxing, zen-like appointments. My therapist is a no-nonsense, take no prisoners type who makes it her personal mission to break up every knot she finds in my back. There’s no pampering involved here.

By the time I called to make my last appointment my therapist was already booked. I went with someone else who is not as familiar with the rock quarry known as Pam’s Back. While she was working on me she made a statement that truly got my attention.

“I don’t know how you function with a back so knotted and tight.”

She is absolutely correct. And I’m going to do something about it. I won’t promise to stretch every day, but I’m making it my goal to do 15 minutes of stretching three times a week. If I’m too busy to do that, then I’m too busy. Maybe I’ll feel so good after a few weeks of this new habit, I’ll find the time to stretch daily.

The bottom line is, I’m only 51 years old. I can run half marathons and complete sprint triathlons. I can hike. I can swim a mile. I can lift weights.

I can’t let my spine age faster than the rest of me. I won’t.

What about you? Do you have a stretching routine? Do you have trouble finding time for this important area of fitness? Hit me in the comments section and share your successes and challenges.

Thanks so much for reading!

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

