The Monkey May Be Off My Back, But…


“The monkey may be off my back, but the circus is still in town.”

I heard that today in a recovery meeting. It’s one of those little nuggets I’ll never forget. And it’s so true.

I had another opportunity to thank my boss for letting me work from home yesterday afternoon. She knows I work a program of recovery and while she’s supportive, it’s not something we need to discuss very often. Today I told her that because I was feeling so overwhelmed yesterday, I found myself wanting to use sugar to take the edge off, but that for me there is no such thing as “one time use to take the edge off.” I told her I only have a daily reprieve and I guard my recovery as if my life depends on it…because it does.

I’m glad that yesterday my Higher Power gave me the wisdom to know that it wasn’t sugar, or alcohol, or pills I needed. What I needed was time alone to work on projects, cross things off my list, and feel accomplished.

Today I was back in the office and completed a writing/desktop publishing assignment by 11 a.m. I felt great the rest of the day. Even though I didn’t feel like I needed to go to a lunch hour meeting, I did so anyway. I’m glad I did because I learned that for me, the circus is still in town.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment