Fall half marathon training has begun


I funny thing happened following my April half marathon.

Gardening.

I traded my Saturday morning long runs for planting, weeding, deadheading, and fertilizing. I’ve been going to the gym three or four times a week, but I’ve only been maintaining my current level of fitness rather than improving it. And believe me, improvement is in order.

I don’t know about you, but I’m more dedicated to my workouts when I’m registered for a race, so last week I registered for an October 29 half marathon. I printed Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 schedule, whipped out my calendar and discovered that training begins this week.

Fall half marathon training has begun!

Entrance to the green way where I ran early yesterday morning.

Yesterday was Day 1 and I did a three mile interval run on a nearby green way. The temperature at 6:30 in the morning wasn’t bad, but the humidity enveloped me. I was happy when it was over.

Looks like a green way worker was having a little fun. This picture accurately describes how I was feeling at the end of a humid three-miler.

Looks like a green way worker was having a little fun. This picture accurately describes how I was feeling at the end of a humid three-miler.

Now that I have a half marathon on my calendar, it feels like everything is back in order. I’d like to do one half a month through April; we’ll see how scheduling goes.

What races have you scheduled?

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

