I’m a Half Fanatic!


Greetings from Half Fanatic #14549!

Half fanatics

When I decided to abort my marathon plan, I set a new goal. I wanted to qualify for the Half Fanatics club. The easiest way, in my opinion, to qualify is by completing three half marathons in 90 days. I did the Cedars of Lebanon Frostbite Half on February 6, The Little Rock Half on March 6. And I accomplished my goal on Saturday with the Rock N Roll Nashville Half, right here in my home town.

I’m not gonna lie. Saturday’s was the toughest of the three. We had a pre-race rain shower which created a lot of humidity. By the time I finished, the temperature was in the 70s. The hills were brutal. There were times between Miles 2 and 10 that I didn’t think I would make it. I felt light headed, over-heated, and a little panicky. When the dizziness hit I took a gel and water. I took Gatorade at most of the stations. But the main reason I was able to finish was I reframed my thinking.

I decided not to concentrate on the miles ahead of me. Having completed two halfs, I concentrated on the small number of miles that remained between me and Half Fanatic qualification. My thoughts when something like this.

At Mile 3: “There are only 10 miles between me and the Half Fanatics.

At Mile 6.6: I am halfway through this race AND there are only 6.5 miles between me and the Half Fanatics.

At Mile 10: There’s only a 5K between me and the Half Fanatics.

And then I crossed the finish line!

Once I arrived back home I went the the Half Fanatics website and completed the application. I few hours later I received confirmation that I qualified and a link to complete the sign up process. As long as I pay my membership dues each year (only $15) I never have to requalify, although I can move up in rank (I’m currently at the beginner Neptune level).

It feels great to complete this goal so early in the year!

 

This entry was posted in Heath and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

