Monday Musings: I overdid it this weekend


I’ve made a self discovery. I suffer from Must-get-it-all-done-in-one-work-session-itis. While hopefully not fatal, it does create problems. This weekend was a perfect storm of “must-dos” and I paid the price for having Must-get-it-all-done-in-one-work-session-itis.

This weekend marked my final long run before the Rock N Roll Nashville half marathon. I had a ten-miler in front of me. It was also the weekend I needed to do a lot of work in my rose bed. I have 29 roses. That’s not very many by Rosarians’ standards but it’s a lot for a Weekend Warrior with two rewarding careers. How was I going to accomplish everything?

I woke up early Saturday morning and decided that I would spend the day with the roses and would do my 10-miler before church on Sunday. Here’s how that plan turned out.

It took 9.5 hours to plant four rose bushes, weed the bed, feed the roses, water them (I don’t yet have a watering system so had to do this by hand), and spray for fungus prevention. Once finished, I was spent. I had a lot of trouble sleeping because of the muscle soreness, especially in my lower back. It seemed I woke up every time I moved.

Sunday morning I woke up exhausted. I was very sore and decided that I would do my 10 miles on the treadmill as it provides a soft surface. I went to the gym and covered six miles. Then I stopped. I just stopped. I returned home and got ready for church knowing I had four more miles to go later that day. I don’t normally split my long runs, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

I felt tired and irritable while at church. I wanted to be left alone, yet people kept speaking to me. That’s just one of the hazards of attending a friendly congregation. 🙂

After church I stopped in a drugstore and bought Aleve. Once home I took it along with a two-hour nap. Afterward I went back to the gym and completed my final four miles.

Some people wear their business like a badge of honor. I don’t. I’m seeking a cure for Must-get-it-all-done-in-one-work-session-itis. I want to remember that the rose bed (and veggie garden, and hummingbird garden, and hosta bed) will be there tomorrow. I can divide my tasks into smaller work sessions and do a few things when I get home from the office.

This weekend taught me pacing is important. I hope I’ve learned the lesson.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

