My New Instafriend


I have a love/hate relationship with social media. Because of its private messaging feature which Facebook will lot allow users to disable (on personal pages), that platform feels like something I have to check daily like email.

I love Instagram and check it often. Hopping on Instragram feels like taking a two-minute vacation. I follow gardeners, travel photographers, friends and quirky posters. And I now have Instagram to thank for a new friend.

About a year or so ago I found a rosarian on Instagram. We started following each other and after a while figured out we both live in Nashville. From there we started emailing each other and I learned she propagates roses by the hundreds. I’d been looking for a red climber that’s not too heavy (I have a very light-weight trellis just waiting for the right plant). She told me she has the perfect one rooting and is saving it for me.

Last night I attended the Nashville Rose Society monthly meeting. It was the annual Vendor Night and members were milling around making our purchases. I saw someone with a name tag I recognized. She read my tag and we realized we were the Instafriends. She gave me an update on my red climber (it’s ready for pick up) and she told me about her new plant business. I’m thrilled to now have a resource for those old, fragrant roses you can’t easily find elsewhere. And I think there are some irises in my future.

So while for me, social networking can be a curse, last night I remembered why it can also be a blessing.

My haul from the Nashville Rose Society Vendor Night: four new bushes on fortuniana stock, premium soil and Mills products. #donttellhubs

My haul from the Nashville Rose Society Vendor Night: four new bushes on fortuniana stock, premium soil and Mills products. #donttellhubs

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

