Inspiration from Ernestine


This morning.
5 a.m. My alarm clock jolts me out of sleep.
5:10 a.m. I’m still in bed. Today is “leg day” and I was thinking of all the reasons to skip my workout.
  • Last night I volunteered at my church’s ESL program after a long day at the office. I deserved to sleep in.
  • I hate lifting weights.
  • Sleeping is one of my favorite activities

5:15 a.m. I’m still in bed, scrolling through Facebook. I see a post from one of my fitness heroines, Ernestine Sheppard. Here is what she wrote.

Good morning! I am asked one question all the time…”How do I start on my fitness journey?” The answer is really simple. You have to start. Please read the words I am about to say and let them sink into your soul and spirit. Everyone, you must stop wishing, planning, hoping and watching others get into shape. Stop asking advice on what you can do and just make up in your mind that you are going to JUST DO IT! You must get DETERMINED that you are going to get DEDICATED and DISCIPLINED to be fit. Start slow, start moving, start walking, start stretching, start praying, start living but most of all, start DOING! I know you can do it and I am praying for your success. My prayer for you is that you will start today and this time next year you will look better, feel better and have a healthy and happy life. Remember, I love you and God bless. Love, Ernestine
5:17 a.m. I get out of bed and make my way to the gym.
7:00 a.m. I am back home and am so happy I didn’t skip my workout. Time to get ready for work. I plan to have a great day.
If you’re not familiar with Ernestine Sheppard I invite you to Google her or follow her on Facebook. Maybe she’ll inspire you as much as she does me.
Ernestine

Ernestine Shepherd source

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

