The Marathon Must Wait


There’s something I didn’t tell you when I reported on Saturday’s half marathon. When I got home, in addition to hobbling around on the blisters, I was limping and holding on to furniture due to the chronic tendonitis that’s been living in my right foot for four years.

Hubs saw me struggling and said, “And you have a marathon in a month? Look at you and how much you’re hurting.” I was furious. I misdirected my anger at hubs, but I was really angry at the situation. Hubs was right (I hate to admit that). Now, by Sunday I was walking with ease and you would not have known I did a half the day before. But I was feeling it during the last four miles of the event.

I thought about it all weekend: can I really expect to complete a marathon in one month? The 18-miler I did two weeks ago  was very difficult. I would have a 20-miler this Saturday and I was dreading it.

On Monday morning I awoke and I knew exactly what I needed to do. I went online and changed my entry from the full marathon to the half. As soon as I hit the “send” button I felt a tremendous sense of relief. That’s how I know I made the right decision.

I’m traveling to Little Rock with a good friend of mine (I’m picking her up in Memphis). She’s also doing the half marathon and now she won’t have to wait all day for me to finish my event. We’ll have more girl time to relax and laugh on the road trip. Winning!

The marathon remains on my bucket list, but now is just not the time. I happen to really enjoy the half marathon distance and it feels good to be already trained up for it. My plan for the rest of 2016 is remain trained for the distance so that I can do a half in about a week’s notice. There are plenty of them within a short drive from my house.

But for now I’m concentrating on the next one. Game on!

I've got my eye on you. Source.

I’ve got my eye on you. Source.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

