Run When You Can


Nashville had a little sleet Wednesday morning. I was able to get to the gym for a treadmill session.

Post workout sleet

Post workout sleet

All day Thursday I was looking forward to my weekly outing with my running club. But then rush hour traffic happened. And sundown happened. And cold happened. And the forecast called for snow on Friday and I had not yet gone on my weekly trip to the grocery store.

When I finally got home from work, hubs declared he was running. So I decided I would as well. Only a few of us from the club were able to make it. Some people didn’t get out of work on time. Others worked out in the morning in the event the snow arrived earlier than expected. So the few of us who showed up took a pre-run selfie to congratulate ourselves on braving the cold. (Now, all of you from the north, don’t laugh that “braving the cold” means running in 20 or 30 degree temperatures. Our blood is thinner than yours due to our normally warm climate. So there. I don’t now if that’s true, but it sounds good.)

All bundled up and ready to go. I'm on the back row in he middle, with the angelic halo over my head.

All bundled up and ready to go. I’m the short one on the back row, with the angelic halo over my head.

Once we got out there, it really wasn’t so bad. In fact, my hands got a little too warm inside my running gloves.

I’m now glad I ran last night because I’m not running today.

0122160933-1.jpg

We’re having ourselves a real snow. We already have more than four inches of accumulation and the snowfall is supposed to continue all day. Again, those of you up north and out west, save your eye rolls and snickering. Because we have so few snow days down here, we don’t have the infrastructure to keep the roads clear.

Thankfully, tomorrow’s scheduled long run is only eight miles. The training plan I’m using calls for a long run one week, a run of half that distance the following week, then a ramp up after that. 16 miles, eight miles, 18 miles, 9 miles…get it? I would probably be concerned if this weekend’s long run were a 16 or 18 mile day. If I have to miss my eight miler due to weather, the world isn’t coming to an end. Training in the winter sometimes means missing sessions due to the elements. Life on life’s terms.

Being snowed in today, I am so glad I ran last night. This is the season to run when you can because there’s no telling what tomorrow will bring.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

