Ending a 17-year relationship


This week I ended a 17-year relationship. With my gym.

Don’t get me wrong, my home YMCA is a great place. I like the members and staff. So why did I leave? Two reasons.

My introversion. I don’t like getting ready in the gym locker room. Again, the members are great! It’s just that I like quiet. Lots and lots of quiet. Whenever I get dressed in the locker room there are multiple, loud conversations happening along with a blaring television set. The experience cancels out the positive endorphins my workouts provide. For the past year or so I’ve been leaving the house early to get to the gym, work out, then go home to shower and get ready for work. That’s a 14-mile round trip. Lately I’ve only been going to the gym once or twice a week due to all of this. Which brings me to my second reason for leaving…

Convenience. I live 1/2 mile from a 24-hour, no contract workout facility. Lately, as I begin my drive to the Y, I find myself looking over at that facility and thinking “I could be working out now instead of driving for another 20 minutes.” I know 20 minutes doesn’t seem like a long time, but do the math. That’s a 40 minute drive round-trip. Multiply that by working out several days a week, ideally, and it equals a lot of time and gasoline over the course of a year.

One of the reasons I hesitated to drop my Y membership was pool access. But I’ve found a pool that sells 10 visits for $40. Winning!

So this morning I joined the gym within walking distance from my home. I put pen to paper and discovered that I’ll save more than $350 in gym fees due to the lower cost of this facility, so that’s another win.

A gym membership is only good if I use it. I look forward to getting to know this gym down the street.

This entry was posted in Heath and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ending a 17-year relationship

  1. Tammy Wammy says:

    Care to share where the pool access is? That sounds like a great deal!

  2. thpmotor1 says:

    I’ve always found it interesting that a non-profit was always more expensive than a for profit gym.

    • Pam Brown says:

      In the Y’s defense, the the monthly fee includes a lot of classes, an indoor and an outdoor pool. I really loved it there. It’s just that I no longer want to make a 14-mile round-trip drive, come back home and get ready for work. I’m going to be interested in how much time I save by not driving so far to work out. As I shared in the post, I just can’t take the noise in the locker room. 🙂

Leave a Reply

