Triathlon Deferred


I’ve been putting off telling you this. Due to three unrelated health inconveniences, it’s been about three weeks since I’ve trained for my upcoming triathlon. One night last week, at about 3:00 a.m. I came to my senses and decided not to participate in the event which is THIS SATURDAY. I need some inspiration, so I’m going to volunteer instead.

I called my training partner, Lynn to tell her my plans. She congratulated me for being level-headed. I mentioned that I’d really like to do the Mountain Lakes Triathlon on August 8, secretly hoping she would agree to go with me. She and I have done that one before and we really like the course. She said that would be a great event for me, but didn’t make a peep about going herself. I reluctantly began psyching myself up to make the trip solo (driving out of state for a triathlon isn’t hub’s idea of a good time). Then on Sunday, Lynn sent me the following text.

I just booked a room at Mtn Lakes. They sell out so fast I wanted to have one, just in case we decide to go.

Yay! I called her immediately and told her I really want to go. She sounded like she feels the same way.

My plan is to return to the gym later this week for some lite workouts, then next week I’ll begin swimming, biking and running. I have an eight-week “just train to finish” plan that I should start on June 14, but I’ll probably begin early and incorporate bricks into my schedule.

I’m looking at this as a minor setback. It’s not the end of the world and while I’m sorry not to be doing a triathlon this weekend, August 8 will be here before I know it!

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triathlon Deferred

  1. Cath says:

    Minor setbacks will bring you back stronger yet! Take good care as you prepare for your next venture!

Leave a Reply

