Noticing the Neighbors


From my back yard I can see the backyards and back of houses in an adjoining neighborhood. I don’t know anyone who lives “over there” but from time to time I hear people outside talking, so I know the neighborhood is occupied. While planting rose bushes on Saturday I saw a lovely sight. A couple who lives in the house directly behind mine were seated on their deck enjoying their morning coffee. I’ve never noticed them before. I waved, got their attention, and wished them a good morning. They waved back and told me how much they enjoy seeing my roses in bloom. We talked for a few minutes about the joys of gardening, then I got back to planting and they resumed their relaxing morning.

This couple inspired me. I’ve shared here before I move through the world better when I have margins of time built into my day. While weekdays find me at the gym before going to the office, there is no reason I can’t take my Saturday and Sunday decaf outside. I don’t have to linger for hours. I can sit and enjoy the outdoors after my Saturday morning workout and before church on Sundays. The point is, I want to continue to find ways to slow down, enjoy the fruits of my yard work and relax…

to literally stop and smell the roses.

 

This entry was posted in Life Coaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

