Tri Again?


Now that the half marathon monkey’s off my back, I’m trying to decide what to do next. I’ve only done one triathlon since my foot surgery of two years ago. I did that one way too soon following surgery and I was in so much pain I walked the run portion.

I’m toying with a beginner-friendly sprint tri that takes place on May 16. I like events touted as “beginner friendly” because I’ve only done four and I still feel like a newbie, especially when my nerves get all jangled during the transitions. The distances for the May 16 event are very do-able: a 200 meter swim, 10 mile bike, and two-mile run. But that’s not to say I won’t have to train. I’ve not been in the pool for months and I’ve only been on a bike trainer a few times over the last few weeks.

I’m going to spend some time this week doing a little soul searching to decide whether or not I’m willing to do what it takes to prepare for an event that’s only seven weeks away. April is a very busy month in my work life and in order to keep my commitments and train, my alarm clock is going to be jolting me out of bed even earlier than it already does, and I may be looking at some two-a-day training sessions.

I’m giving myself an April 6 deadline to make a decision and if it’s a go, to register. Of course I’ll keep you posted.

What about you? What events are on your training calendar? Hit me up in the comments section.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

