Snapshot Saturday: My Waste Free Jack-o-lanters and the Final Blooms


 

Hubs and I returned late Thursday night from a few days in San Antonio. We took another vacation day yesterday and I put the pedal to the metal to get my pumpkins carved for Halloween. I’m an environmentally friendly carver, so nothing, and I mean nothing goes to waste.

Herein lies the pumpkin guts. This morning they went into another raised garden bed.

Herein lies the pumpkin guts.Tomorrow afternoon, weather permitting, they’ll go into another raised garden bed.

I harvested about half of the pumpkin seeds and roasted them.

I harvested about half of the pumpkin seeds and roasted them.

 

Yum! Here's the recipe. You're welcome.

Yum! Here’s the recipe. You’re welcome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the interest of time, I kept it simple. In a few days these will go into the compost tumbler and into the garden next Spring. Again, nothing goes to waste.

In the interest of time, I kept it simple. In a few days these will go into the compost tumbler and into the garden next Spring. Again, nothing goes to waste.

Off topic: This guy was working at the grocery store and he posed with a note to my niece. She hates clowns.

Off topic: This guy was working at the grocery store and he posed with a note to my niece. She’s not a fan of clowns.

Nashville was forecasted to have its first freeze of the year last night, so while the pumpkin seeds were roasting I ran outside with my camera and clippers.

I will miss my flower blooms terribly, but I know the plants have important work to do over the winter to prepare for next year.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

