How to Build a Raised Bed


Over the past year or so, several young couples have moved into the neighborhood. They remind me of hubs and me when we moved in; we’d only been married a year at the time. They’re all eager to set up home and garden. They’re precious.

These youngsters seem to view me as the wise old gardening neighbor. When they see me outside they want to know how I get so many blooms on my roses (You must water them, dear.) or they want to know what project I’m working on.

Recently, next door neighbor Lee saw me working outside and asked me about the project. I was building a simple raised bed which should be ready for planting next Spring. Poor Lee had never heard of raised beds. I explained the concept and he was thrilled to learn he never again has to rent a tiller. I figured if he hadn’t heard of raised bed gardening then perhaps you haven’t either. Check out the photos below for a primer. You’re welcome.

Step 1: Place cardboard or newspaper across the area where you want your raised bed to be. Then top with green scraps. For this bed I used the tomato, cucumber and pepper plants that were no longer producing. Sometimes I use pulp from my juicer and kitchen scraps (no meat).

Step 1: Place cardboard or newspaper across the area where you want your raised bed to be. Then top with green scraps. For this bed I used the tomato, cucumber and pepper plants that were no longer producing. Sometimes I use pulp from my juicer and kitchen scraps (no meat).

 

Step two: cover the green scraps with newspaper.

Step two: cover the green scraps with newspaper. I then sprayed with water.

 

Step three: cover with about two inches of peat moss.

Step three: cover with about two inches of peat moss and water the mound again.

Later that weekend I trimmed the bed with concrete blocks. I like to have a concrete or stone separation between my beds. Next Spring I’ll add some top soil and compost from my tumbler.

I’m going to build several more beds between now and the first frost, tripling the space of my vegetable garden.

I’m sure there are other ways to construct a raised bed. I’d love it if you share your tips in the comments section.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

