Pumping Iron For Stronger Bones


Disclaimer: Gentlemen, this post deals with menopause, so if that bothers you, you might want to head on over to someone else’s blog today. 🙂

During my most recent annual check up, a blood test confirmed I’ve completed menopause. Desperate to find relief from these #@$%@ hot flashes, I read the book What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause. It was a slow, laborious read, but I’m glad I stuck with it. One of the facts I learned is women experience the most bone loss during the first three years after “the change.” (Remember that term? Thankfully I never hear it whispered anymore.) So, I’ve recommitted to lifting weights twice a week.

Weight lifting helps slow bone loss. If you don’t believe me, here’s an article from WebMD. If you don’t believe WebMD, talk to your doctor.

Last year, before menopause, my doctor ordered a bone density test and it checked out normal, whatever normal is. So by recommitting to weight lifting now, I’ve got a fighting chance to stay strong and prevent or delay osteoporosis.

This is going to be a challenge for me. When I’m strapped for time, and who isn’t strapped for time, weight lifting is the first thing to go from my fitness schedule. Why? Because I’m a cardio queen. I love to finish a workout with a racing heart rate and drenched in sweat. I just don’t get that from pumping iron. Maybe I don’t work at it hard enough.

I friend of the family has the most severe case of osteoporosis I’ve ever seen. She’s the sweetest lady and she never complains. I’m always nervous when I’m around her because she looks so unsteady on her feet. I’m sure when she was my age she never imagined being in the shape she’s in today. I want to do whatever I can to avoid a similar fate.

So ladies, if you’re a member of the M-club, and if you’re not already lifting, I hope you’ll join me. Our bones with thank us.

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

