My Friday Routine


I was out with some college friends last night and as we were chatting someone commented that she didn’t remember me as being someone who liked routines as much as I seem to these days (laundry on Thursday evenings, food prep on Sundays after church, etc.). Over time, yes, I’ve fallen into a predictable schedule.

This summer I’ve fallen into a Friday routine that I really love. I arrive at the gym around 5:30 a.m., while it’s still dark outside. I return home between 6:45 and 7:00 and go immediately to my rose bed where I pick up fallen leaves, deadhead blooms, spray for black spot, water, post rose photos to Instagram, and the best part…pick some blooms for a bouquet to bring inside. While doing this I think about the day ahead and the clients I will coach. Then I bring the cut roses inside and arrange them. They’ll sit at the kitchen table, my place of choice for having my coaching phone calls.

This routine centers me and provides me with beautiful flowers to enjoy over the next few days. If loving my routines is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

With apologies to those of you who know how to arrange flowers, this is the bouquet I put together this morning.

With apologies to those of you who know how to arrange flowers, this is the bouquet I put together this morning.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Friday Routine

  1. Denise says:

    Lovely…!

Leave a Reply

