The Heartbreak of Growing Roses


Dick Clark has blackspot and I feel like a bad parent. I noticed it during my first garden walk following a week of depletion. The rose bush’s foliage was covered with the vile fungus. I’m fortunate to attend church with one of the Nashville Rose Society’s Consulting Rosarians and my blackspot discovery occurred early on a Sunday. Later that morning while at church I stalked until I found ran into my rosarian. He told me what to do and he let me know that black spot and spider mites (Dick Clark has those as well) happens to the best of us.  I felt somewhat consoled.

This is my first year growing roses. I have much to learn. I told my rosarian that he would soon dread running into me because of all of my questions. His response?

“I’m just glad you’ve discovered growing roses.”

 

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

