Never Say “Once In A Lifetime”


Last year a coaching client* told me about a “once in a lifetime” opportunity. While the opportunity was fantastic and she was excited as she told me about it, I gave her a little pushback regarding her language. Why did this have to be once in a lifetime? Why couldn’t she work toward such opportunities again and again?

Well, guess what? A couple of sessions ago, this client told me that another similar and equally wonderful opportunity has presented itself. I light-heartedly reminded her of our earlier conversation. She laughed and told me I was the first person she thought of when she solidified her plans.

I realize when we say “once in a lifetime” we think we are being positive. I wonder what would happen if we banned that phrase from our language and assumed that we have what it takes to create wonderful opportunities over and over again.

Thoughts?

 

*Story shared with client’s permission.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

