Depleted


Last week was one of extreme business, with after-work commitments every night. It was full of lots of good stuff, but as I look back on it, I didn’t have any down time. In fact, I only worked out one day, I didn’t turn on my juicer, and on a few occasions I grabbed fast food between appointments. Of course I felt tired all week.

I rested a lot over the weekend and again there were no workouts. Yesterday I was tempted to feel concerned. Am I dipping into a blue mood? Why am I not willing to run? Swim? Cycle?

Because I got myself depleted, that’s why.

When I lapse into behaving like a “human doing” rather than a human being it’s not long before my mind and body scream “stop.” The allergies that are a smidge worse than usual, that little sore throat, the fatigue…all are telling me to slow down.

I know that unless I’m well-rested, I can’t bring my A-game to my work, my home, my friends, my family…or myself.

This week I’ve decided to be gentle. I like working out six days a week, but I’m going to applaud myself if I work out four times. I’m going to focus on solid nutrition with lots of veggie juice.

From where I’m standing right now, the schedule for the week ahead looks a bit more sane. And I like sane.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

