My Wheat Confession


I ate wheat on Thursday, Day 29 of my 100 day emphasis to Abstain from the Grain. I decided not to beat myself up over it. And I learned a good lesson about what not to do next time.

I was invited to a business lunch in someone’s home. She served a beautiful, Greek meal. There was salad, fruit, pita crackers with salsa, and small wraps. I would have been just fine eating the fruit and salad IF…and this is a big IF…

…If I hadn’t shown up for the lunch hungrier than I would advise anyone to be.

You see, I’ve gotten myself on a juicing kick. On most mornings, I stop by a juice bar and get a 16 ounce cup of something. Sometimes it’s green, sometimes it’s red as a beet. I’ll enjoy that on an empty stomach, and about an hour later I’ll have a light breakfast. Well, on Thursday I never got around to having breakfast. When it was time to have lunch I was famished. I got some fruit, salad, two pita chips and a wrap. I wasn’t comfortable unwrapping the wrap and eating its contents in front of the generous hostess who provided the meal. And again, I was HUNGRY. Later that afternoon I felt groggy, congested, and my eyelids were a little puffy.

I anticipated having a rough day on Friday. I feared I would experience withdrawal, but I actually breezed through the day. Perhaps I’d done so much detoxing between Days 1 and 28, my slip didn’t cause too much damage. Today is Day 35 and it’s great to be back on track.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

