Portrait of a Meltdown


I had a bit of a meltdown last night…all over a misplaced cell phone. I’d arrived at the ESL class hubs and I teach. My Bluetooth indicated my phone was not connected. Not connected?! Where’s my phone?
This threw me into a panic. I raced into the ESL class, grabbed hub’s phone and called a few office colleagues hoping someone would do a quick search of my office. Everyone had left. I found a fellow ESL worker who was happy to agreed to cover for me while I raced back to the office. I searched the office and parking lot. No phone.

I raced back to class and reported this disaster to hubs who asked me if I’d password protected the device. Um, no, I hadn’t. After providing me with a very helpful lecture about the importance of password protection, hubs suggested I go home and call my phone carrier and learn what to do. And so I did.

Before exiting the garage for the house I decided to take one more sweep of my car. And there it was, wedged between the passenger seat and the door. Why the Bluetooth lied and made me assume my phone was miles away from me, I’ll never know. Relieved, I drove back to ESL and spent the final 30 minutes of class with my students.

Now, in the big scheme of things, this was not the end of the world, so why all the panic?

In short, I was depleted.

I’ve been working a lot of extra hours on a project that came to fruition on Saturday. I’m not complaining about that; it was a great project and I’m proud of the part I played in it. I had church commitments both Sunday morning and evening, and it was back to the office on Monday. I just haven’t had the downtime this introvert so desperately needs.

Coaches have coaches. Thank goodness I had a session scheduled with my coach today. I fessed up about last night’s meltdown and she helped me develop strategies to prevent becoming depleted when my schedule is unusually packed. I feel so much better after having talked that out with her. And I really want to be mindful of the warning signs I display when I’m beginning to become depleted. In other words, in the future I want to nip it in the bud.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go password protect my phone.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

