Staying Active in the Big Easy


Hubs and I recently took a trip to New Orleans, the Big Easy. But we didn’t take it easy. Not at all. As a result, my foot felt better than ever. All that walking helped loosen up some post surgery stiffness I’m still experiencing. So here’s a little photo essay on remaining active in Nawlins, y’all.

Model: Hubs

Model: Hubs

We stayed in a hotel on Royal Street in the Quarter. We were on the third floor and there was no elevator. Honestly, after walking all day in the heat and humidity, I would have taken an elevator had the option been available. I’m glad it wasn’t. Stairs are good for me.

The Mighty Mississippi

The Mighty Mississippi

We started every morning but one jogging along the river. I’m still doing a walk/jog but during this trip I reduced the amount of walking and increased the amount jogging.

Another morning jog along the Mississippi.

Another morning jog along the Mississippi.

One of my favorite buildings in the Quarter.

One of my favorite buildings in the Quarter.

Did I mention we walked everywhere? Well, except for the one day we took a swamp tour in Slidell. I wasn’t about to walk to Slidell. I think we covered every square inch of the quarter. Multiple times.

Hubs' order of beignets at Cafe Du Monde

Hubs’ order of beignets at Cafe Du Monde

Incredibly, hubs only had one order of beignets during the entire trip. I skipped them altogether.

Pat O'Brien's. Neither of us drink, so this is the closest we got to a hurricane.

Pat O’Brien’s. Neither of us drink, so this is the closest we got to a hurricane.

It was a great trip and I’m sure I had no problem getting in the recommended 10,000 steps per day. I’ve always been of the opinion that if you really want to get to know an area, travel by foot or bicycle. I haven’t been to New Orleans in 10 years and I enjoyed getting reacquainted with the wonderful city.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Active in the Big Easy

  1. Patricia Vance says:

    Sounds like you had a great trip. Glad to hear your foot is better!

Leave a Reply

