Sundays With Lenny


I have some friends I know from the gym. All of us embrace the active lifestyle and for the past few years we’ve met  EARLY on Sunday mornings for a bike ride. We roll out at 6 a.m. in order to accommodate my need to get to church on time and the rest of the group’s need to get to Cracker Barrel.  I happen to be the youngest member of this little group; Lenny, in his mid 70s is the oldest.

I wasn’t able to join the group rides during the Spring as my surgeon had not yet cleared me to ride. One crash and my foot surgery would have become a waste of time, effort and agony. When I finally met up with the group mid summer, Lenny wasn’t there. I later learned that he can no longer ride the hills that are a part of our usual route. I was told he missed cycling terribly.

I reached out to Lenny and told him that if he wanted, he and I could meet the group, but we would take a different, flatter course. He loved the idea, so that’s exactly what we’ve been doing.

I ask Lenny to plot the course and set the pace. When he appears to become tired I trump up the need to stop and take a photograph. It takes us about 45 minutes to ride five miles, but that doesn’t matter. What matters to me is a kind and wonderful friend has the opportunity to participate in an activity he enjoys. As a bonus, I have some one -on-one time with someone who is older and wiser. One can’t have too many wise influences.

In a few short weeks the mornings will be darker and cooler. Lenny and I will have to put our Sunday morning rides on hold until next Spring. I hope he’ll be in good enough shape to cycle. Heck, I hope I’ll be in good enough shape to do so.

If we can’t cycle, perhaps we’ll walk…or meet at Cracker Barrel…and solve the world’s problems.

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

