Help! I Need Some ZZZZs


alarm clock

Ladies, I need some ZZZZZs.

For more than a year, I’ve awoken every night between 2:30 and 3:30 a.m. Sometimes I go back to sleep easily, sometimes I toss and turn. I don’t think this is about stress or worry. I think it’s about hormones.

A few nights a week I take melatonin. Sometimes I pair it with Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Extra herb tea. Note, I’m not talking about the Sleepytime in the green box. I’m talking about the stuff in the beige and blue box…the brew that contains valerian root. I should mention I don’t drink caffeine. Still, I fall asleep but I don’t remain asleep. I was sharing my ZZZZZ dilemma with my friend and training partner, Lynn. She told me to take an straw poll in the ladies’ locker room and I would discover that everyone 50 or older would have their own stories to tell about the 2:30 a.m. syndrome.

I’ve not conducted the YMCA poll; I’m doing it here instead.

Are you a woman 50 or older who has trouble staying asleep? What remedies have you tried? What’s worked and what hasn’t? I’d be grateful for your thoughts.

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

