I Read a Book: Wild


WildTP_Books-330

During my recent vacay I read Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed. I stumbled upon it during one of my recent book store runs. The dust jacket photo of the hiking boot grabbed me.

I enjoyed this book on several levels.

The coach in me liked witnessing Strayed’s emotional healing and growth. The hiker in me loved reading about the trail, the adventures and misadventures. Strayed was woefully ill-prepared for this solo hike. She writes with such clarity that I found myself stressing out when she ran out of water. I got nervous when she was approached by a stranger who seemed to have bad intentions. I was happy for her every time she made it to the next stop where she could pick up a supply box she’d had packed before the trip and a friend mailed. I’ve never been on the Pacific Crest Trail, yet while reading I had a clear visual of it.

While I never, never want to hike alone for three months, hiking is one of my favorite recreations. I have this wish that when hubs and I retire, we will be healthy enough to hike large portions of the Appalachian Trail. Never mind that we might not be speaking to each other by the end of the trip!

Reading Wild has motivated me to dust off my hiking boots and take them on a nearby trail. Nashville is fortunate to have two hiking utopias: Radnor Lake and Percy Warner Park. While Frankenfoot is still sore, I’m sure I can handle some light hikes. I plan to test that theory within a few weeks.

What about you? Are you a hiker? What are your favorite trails?

Photo: cherylstrayed.com

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

