I Heart My Attitude


car plate

I saw this car tag in a grocery store parking lot. I had to stop and take a pic. I love it!

Have you ever known anyone so seems to enjoy being in a bad mood? I have. We all get in bad moods from time to time. When I get in one of those moods I can’t stand being around myself. In my last post I mentioned some funny websites I go to when I want a laugh. But there’s something else I try to remember to do when my mood is less than perky.

I look for someone who needs help and I help them. And if I REALLY want a boost I’ll anonymously do something nice for someone I might not be fond of. A long time ago, someone much smarter than me taught me to do that.

I don’t tell you this to brag. There’s nothing there to brag about because my motives are quite selfish! But I know that if I take my thoughts off myself and put them on someone in need I will automatically feel better. These aren’t Herculean acts. It can be as simple as helping someone in another department complete a mailing, or send a get well card to someone. But without fail, I feel better.

Shortly after the tragic Newtown shootings, Ann Curry started a wonderful effort on Twitter called #26ACTS. People were encouraged to do 26 acts of kindness, one for each person killed at the school. Curry realized that while we can’t bring back those children and teachers, we can intentionally put some kindness back out into the world.

The next time you find yourself in a bad mood, I hope you will look around and seek out someone who needs help. I bet that afterward, you’ll heart your attitude.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

