A Self-Care Revolution


self care

 

For the past few weeks I’ve been burning the candle at both ends. My mornings started either at the gym or at physical therapy. Once at work it was go, go, go, all day long. After work it was on to various volunteer activities and such.

I’m not complaining. Honestly, I love my life. And I bet the schedule I described reads a lot like yours (although I hope you haven’t been in physical therapy).  But every once in a while I just want to slow things down, if only for a few hours.

Today was the day. Hubs was on a business trip yesterday and last night, meaning this morning I had the house all to myself. When my alarm sounded at 4:45 I made a conscious decision to reset it for 5:45. After spending some time in prayer and meditation I made myself a small pot of decaf and read the morning newspaper. I’m old school, still subscribing to a hard copy. I took my sweet time pouring over the articles I wanted to read in total. I even turned the pages slowly.

After I digested the paper I phoned a close friend who’s always good for a laugh and we chatted for about 20 minutes. Afterward I took a longer shower than usual and got ready for work.

I felt strangely patient as I waited for the traffic to break so that I could make a left turn off of my street and onto a busy one. A kind motorist let me out and I drove the eight miles to my office while listening to some favorite tunes.

Once at the office I was back on my regular pace, and yes, I had an obligation after work. It was a good day made even better because I recognized my need to take a break from my normal morning routine.

I often challenge my coaching clients to practice self-care. Because I prefer to practice what I preach I am renewing my commitment to do some sort of self care every day. It won’t always be skipping the gym. I enjoy working out so much, it often is my self care. But it will be something that resonates with me and feeds my mind, body and/or spirit.

I’m launching a 30 Days of Self Care campaign on my “Pam Brown Life Coach” Facebook page. I’ll post what I do for myself each day for the next 30 days (today is Day 1).  Don’t expect my daily posts to be earth shattering. I’m not going to climb to the top of a mountain and meditate there (after all, I’m still rehabbing my foot). I’ll just post my personal slices of heaven that make me happy, and much of it will be repetitive.

I invite you to join me. I hope you’ll comment by adding your self care notes to my Facebook posts. Together, let’s start a self-care revolution. There’s nothing selfish about this. On the contrary. We’ll be calmer, happier and able to be of better service to others.

This entry was posted in Life Coaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

