My Surgeon Says…


I had a follow-up visit with my surgeon today. He thinks I’m healing nicely. Actually, he told me I’m healing remarkably. I credit his great work, my wonderful physical therapist, and my unusual willingness to do as I’m told during recovery.

Thankfully, he’s lifted a few more restrictions. I can now swim and ride my bike. Here’s the caveat, I’m strongly discouraged from crashing while cycling. Since I avoid crashing at all costs, I’m happy to comply. My training partner Lynn and I are going to ride on flat roads free of heavy traffic. That is, if it ever stops raining in Nashville. I’ll have to train myself to land on my left foot when stopping as I always land on my right.

And now for the not-so-great news. The doc has reversed his decision to let me start running on Memorial Day. One of the screws is trying to work its way out of my foot and he doesn’t want me to accidentally break it while running. That would hurt, you know. So now my re-entry into the world of running must wait until three weeks after the screws are removed. I’m getting unscrewed at the end of June, so it will be mid to late July before I can pound the pavement. Sigh. While I’m disappointed, I try very hard to live my life on life’s terms. There’s nothing I can do to change this, accept be noncompliant and risk hurting myself. I like to think I’m smarter than that.

Friends, since I won’t be running for a while I want to live vicariously through you. Leave a comment and tell me what races/events you have on your calendar. Please?

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Surgeon Says…

  1. Deborah Stillwell says:

    I have been healing quicker than normal post surgery too! Mostly due to my doing what I was told — do most people not do the therapy? You’ve got to do the work! And, most of all, you’ve gotta wanna!!!

Leave a Reply

