#26Acts


There is a wonderful movement going on over at Twitter. Ann Curry (@anncurry) is encouraging people to commit 26 acts of kindness in honor of the victims of the Newtown, CT shooting. As a result people are doing wonderful things and posting about them using hashtag #26Acts.

I love to do random acts of kindness anonymously; I think it’s just more fun to keep it on the down low. But this movement is shining a bright light in the face of a dark tragedy and I want to do what I can to support the effort. So believe me when I tell you I share this not to brag, but hopefully to inspire others.

The hubs and I bought a meal for a family via Kroger’s Salvation Army Food Angel program. And just a few minutes ago we went to Walmart and paid off a stranger’s lay-a-way. We actually missed the deadline because lay-a-ways had to have been paid for by December 14. We learned that Walmart associates have an extended deadline, so we were still able to help someone. I don’t know who the recipient is and I don’t want to know. I just hope his or her child enjoys the gynormous Leggo set that Santa will bring. I have 24 acts to go, but I know I won’t want to stop there.

I invite you to join me in this joyous movement. If you tweet, join us in spreading the word. If Twitter isn’t your thing, leave a comment here and I’ll tweet it for you.

#26Acts doesn’t have to be expensive, but the joy you’ll feel is priceless.

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #26Acts

  1. Beautiful Pam. Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

