Snapshot Saturday, October 27, 2012 Revisted


After surviving Saturday’s zombie apocalypse, I managed to take some pretty photos along Percy Warner Park’s 11.2 mile course. Enjoy.

I don’t know the dog’s owners but I felt a lot of compassion when I saw this. Just thought I’d help spread the word.

I. Love. Fall.

More color.

I enjoyed seeing the bright green moss against the fallen leaves.

Harpeth Hills Golf Course is along side the park. The nice men who work in the clubhouse let me use the lady’s room (thankfully). Here’s a photo of the course taken inside the clubhouse.

I’m experimenting with different types of energy bars. Shortly after I left the clubhouse I ate a Lara Bar. About two miles later I learned I can’t stomach them while running. Don’t worry, I finished the course without incident, but I think I’ll stay with Cliff Bites from now on.

I took this at about Mile 8. Every foot strike hurt. Must do more hill training!

This is my running friend Lynn’s favorite spot on the course. When she runs with me, she always stops here for a moment and breathes a little prayer. I ask her to pray that I don’t have a heart attack. See the church steeple in the distance?

Another shot of Lynn’s favorite place. I believe this is Lea Heights which you’ll read about at the bottom of this post.

This marker is at the top of a huge climb complete with switchbacks. I don’t know who Lunsford is but at the moment I shot this I loathed him (or her).

One mile to go.

Here’s some info about the park.

I hope you enjoyed this virtual tour of one of my favorite places.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snapshot Saturday, October 27, 2012 Revisted

  1. tim-10-ber says:

    Pam — thank you for including the picture of the plaque about Luke Lea Heights. Luke Lea is my grandfather. Without his incredible donation of almost 900 acres Nashville would have neither Percy Warner nor Edwin Warner Park. Percy Warner was Luke Lea’s father-in-law and died roughly 6 months after Luke Lea donated the land. At the time of his death he was Chair of the Parks Board for Nashville. Luke Lea insisted the park be named for him. Edwin Warner, Percy’s brother, made a $20K donation to the city to start acquiring the land known today as Edwin Warner Park. The gates at the front of Percy Warner Park (at the end of Belle Meade Boulevard) were financed by my grandmother and her sisters – the Warner sisters. Nashville is so fortunate to have the 3000 + acres of the Warner Parks and the 1000+acres of Radnor Lake…
    Thanks again!
    Elizabeth

    • Pam Brown says:

      Elizabeth! Thank you for providing this history. I had no idea! You must feel so much joy when you visit the park. It’s beautiful and I feel so fortunate to live near such a place. I always begin my run at those magnificent gates.
      I don’t know whether or not you are watching the TV show Nashville, but a scene in last weeks episode was filmed at the stone stairs.

Leave a Reply

