The Only Bad Workout…


Today marked the final day of the six-week “pre-marathon-training” plan. I’d planned to run the prescribed five miler first thing this morning. But we had an unexpected family thing  that necessitated a pre-sunrise trip to the emergency room (all is well now). Once home I took a nap. When I awoke, the last thing this morning runner wanted to do was run. But I couldn’t stand the thought of missing the last training session of the six-week plan. What to do?

I remembered a quote I’d read on Pinterest. Or was it Facebook?

“The only bad workout is the one that didn’t happen.”

So I made a deal with myself. As much as I hate working out on the treadmill, I decided I could make it through the boredom while watching SEC football. So I dragged my tired self to the gym. Before I knew it, the five miles were finished. Well, that’s not exactly true. But I eventually got them done.

Once finished I felt energized yet relaxed. I felt accomplished; the six-week plan gave me a needed kick-start after missing so many workouts this Spring.

The official marathon training plan begins on Monday. Let the fun and the pain begin.

 

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

