Crow’s Feet Begone: One-Week Update


I’ve completed the first week of the PaloVia Skin Renewing Laser trial. It’s too soon to notice improvements in the fine lines and wrinkles around my eyes, but I’m happy to tell you a bit about the experience so far.

Thankfully, this little gadget is EASY to use. Built-in safely features mean I won’t have to worry about burning my corneas or over-zapping myself. The machine will not emit the laser unless it is in complete contact with the skin. A light shines indicating correct placement. If I move the machine during a three to four-second treatment, the light goes off and that treatment is interrupted. Also, each treatment session is loaded with 25 repetitions. (It doesn’t take 25 repetitions to complete the eye treatments. The extras are “insurance” in the event the user moves the machine and causes interruptions.) Once the counter reaches zero, the machine will not operate for eight hours. This prevents people like me who think, “if it’s worth doing, it’s worth over-doing” from, well, overdoing.

The laser has three strength settings. The instructions suggest using the highest setting one can tolerate. During my first treatment session I wimped out and used the lightest setting. The pain wasn’t bad at all. Ever since, I’ve bravely used the highest setting. Treatments feel like little rubber bands popping my skin. While it’s mildly uncomfortable, enemy forces couldn’t use this to torture me into giving up highly-classified government secrets.

Here I am using the PaloVia Skin Renewing Laser. The blue light you see tells me the laser is in correct contact with my skin. Special thanks to my friend and colleague Susan Ware for taking the photo. She and I were at a conference together and she graciously served as my photographer.

After treatments my skin is quite red and it feels like a sunburn. The next day some of the redness is still there, but it’s nothing a little eye concealer won’t fix. My skin is beginning to feel dry, which means the laser is working. The damaged skin is dying away and will be replaced by new skin cells. A dab of eye cream takes care of the dryness.

This experience is making me rethink skin care. I’ve always been pretty low maintenance. I wash my face twice a day and moisturize at night, but I…gasp…don’t use sunscreen. I didn’t even use eye cream prior to beginning the laser treatments. Now I realize that if I’m going to put effort into getting in shape, why wouldn’t I also invest a few minutes a day to make sure my skin is in it’s best shape?

Now I moisturize and use eye cream twice a day. I’m going to search for a sunscreen to wear while running and gardening. It’s important I find a brand that won’t run into my eyes when I sweat like a horse glisten in the Nashville heat and humidity. If you have a product suggestion, please leave a comment.

I’ll give you another update in a week or so complete with a video clip. Stay tuned!

 

Full disclosure: Palomar provided me a complimentary PaloVia laser for my use in this study and the company will provide transportation, lodging, food and photo shoot in Manhattan. The PaloVia retails for $499. Click here to learn more about it.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crow’s Feet Begone: One-Week Update

  1. aharold says:

    Pam, I just cannot say enough about how much I enjoy reading your blog. Whether you are sharing the perils of training, sharing another race victory, or enlightening me on a new wrinkle treatment, I always know that I will log off feeling inspired!

Leave a Reply

