Entering Unchartered Territory: Wheat-Free Living


I’ve recently re-read two books. I read them annually as one year ends and another begins. The books are Food Addiction: The Body Knows by Kay Sheppard and Trust God (and buy broccoli) by life coach Gerri Helms.

Every time I read these books I’m reminded of what I already know: there are certain food ingredients that I simply can not eat because ingesting them sets up cravings for more. Those ingredients are sugar and white flour. Admittedly I’ll let white flour sneak back into my food plan, I feel gross, and then I make the decision to once again abstain. After a detox period that lasts between three and 10 days, I begin to feel better and I don’t miss flour at all. If I feel great without white flour, why reintroduce it? I may now have the answer.

This time when I read the books I picked up information that I seem to have ignored in the past. (I think that’s called denial.) The authors suggest that people like me may have issues with wheat in addition to white flour. The thought is that some people are sensitive to wheat; that particular grain causes cravings. I’ve never before tried to abstain from wheat. Even while eliminating white flour I’d still enjoy whole wheat pasta, etc.

Last week I tried to kick wheat. I had some fits and starts. I pretty much caved over the weekend. But I’m going to give wheat-free living a 30 day try. I owe you a report on February 9. In the meantime, if I feel miserable from the detox, I’ll be sure to whine about it here.

So what about you? Do you abstain from wheat? Anyone want to give me tips, recipes or pearls of wisdom? Is there life after pizza? Please share in the comments section.

 

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Entering Unchartered Territory: Wheat-Free Living

  1. Chris Felder says:

    I discovered 15 years ago that wheat was poisoning me. I’ll save the details for telling you in person, but I found out for a fact it is. I’ve been going to the doctor since age 14 with digestive problems, and, of course, wheat intolerance wasn’t known about 70 years ago. 🙂 I truly believe it’s an epidemic that affects so many people, and they aren’t even aware of it. Here’s the test: Cut out all wheat for at least two weeks…the longer the better. Then for dinner one night, add a nice large piece of baguette or pasta (NOT whole wheat) to your meal. If your experience is like mine was, you have a problem with wheat. Removing it from my diet has helped with IBS and overall health in general. And since cutting out bread for dinner, I don’t feel hungover the next morning! Bonus. There are GREAT alternatives out there that, if you’ll give them a try, you’ll find are actually tastier than wheat. Spelt bread is a part of my daily breakfast – two pieces of spelt toast every morning. It’s very low in gluten, and even most Celiacs can tolerate it. Anyway, I’m a big proponent of at least testing to see if one might have a wheat intolerance. I truly believe many do, and they’re simply “used” to eating it, so their body has become acclimated to the irritation it causes within the digestive system.

Leave a Reply

