Back In Training…Sort Of


My last endurance event, a half marathon, was in mid October. By the time I finished, I was burned out from what for me was a grueling 2011 schedule: three half marathons and one marathon attempt (I covered 21 miles, but lived to try again).

Since October, I’ve not been able to stomach the thought of training for anything. So for the past two and a half months I’ve been working out with a simple goal…to keep moving and burn calories. My intention was to work out six days a week. And then came December. My schedule got in the way and I only made it to the gym three or four days a week.  I remember a time when I would have let my hectic schedule be an excuse to blow off workouts until January 1. I’ll claim victory in that I’ve gotten to the gym when possible.

There’s a half marathon on my schedule for March 10. Honestly, I haven’t been able to get myself jazzed about training for it. I told my friend and running mentor Lynn that I might skip the event. Her response: “You’ve taken a break from training. You were burned out and you needed the break. But you’re break is over. Start training.”

And so I have…sort of. Last week I dusted off a 12-week training plan, checked my calendar and discovered the event is…um… 12 weeks away.  I ran the prescribed three miles last Monday, then promptly came down with a cold and cough on Tuesday. Good times. I managed an indoor cardio session on Saturday and another this morning. I’m not yet ready to run due to chest congestion, but I’m hopeful I can resume by Wednesday or Thursday.

I hate it when Lynn’s right, but that initial training session felt good. I think I’m bouncing back.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

