Loving the Off Season


Yesterday I finished my first week of my “off season” fitness plan.

I loved it.

On Monday and Wednesday I attended a “sculpt” class. Think weight lifting with cardio thrown in. On Tuesday and Thursday I did 30-minute intervals on the treadmill: Tuesday was an incline session and Thursday was a speed session. On Friday I worked out in the weight room.

Yesterday I ran 3.75 miles with speed fartleks during the 3rd mile. I had planned to run five miles before attending a work commitment, but overslept. I’m a recovering “all or nothing” thinker. There was a time when oversleeping meant chucking the workout…and eating a bag of Doritos. Now I know a short workout is better than no workout. And because I ran fartleks, my heartrate elevated quite a bit and I burned almost as many calories (about 600!) has I would have on a leisurely five-miler.

This is the basic plan I’ll follow until the end of the year, but with running higher mileage as my schedule allows.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loving the Off Season

  1. Pingback: best treadmill for running

Leave a Reply

