My July 4 – August 13 Challenge


I’ve learned that I perform well with short, measurable goals. I recently completed a Memorial Day – July 4 challenge and  I achieved my goal five days past my self-imposed deadline. So, I’ve gone and created another challenge for myself.

I’m a cardio queen and when time is short (and when isn’t time short?) I will ALWAYS skip weight lifting. Always. With that in mind, my current challenge, which I began on July 4 is this: I will weight-lift consistently for six weeks. Here’s the schedule:

  • I will do an upper-body weight lifting session twice a week  (shoulders, biceps, triceps, chest, back).
  • I’ll hit the lower body muscles once a week (adductors, abductors, hamstrings, quads, glutes, calves).
  • I will train my abs every other day (oh six-pack, where art thou?).

I’ve been busily going through past issues of Oxygen magazine and clipping out routines for the various muscle groups. I plan to change routines every two weeks in order to keep my muscles guessing, growing and toning.

As I said, I began this challenge on July 4. I’ll finish on August 13…five weeks before my marathon. Marathoner and author Hal Higdon, who’s online training plan I follow, recommends marathoners stop weight lifting six weeks before the big race. So I’ll be pretty close to following his recommendation.

We’ll see how this goes.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

