Early to Bed…


Early to rise.

It’s 8 p.m. on a Friday night and I’m at home waiting for nightfall so that I can go to sleep. My alarm is set to jolt me out of bed at 4:15 tomorrow morning. Yes, I know tomorrow is Saturday. I’m meeting friend and marathon coach Lynn at 5:45. I’ve got 14 miles to run and Lynn is graciously keeping me company for about nine of them. We’ll be in beautiful and HILLY Percy Warner Park. The early meet up time means I’ll hopefully finish my run before the temperature climbs out of the 80s.

My weekly mileage requirements are now beyond what was necessary for half marathon training. This a rude awakening for my soon-to-be 50 year-old legs. Also, I have to be more intentional about scheduling these training sessions and getting enough rest each night. My sleep requirements have increased; I used to hum along just fine on seven hours. Now I need eight. My weekday runs are longer, therefore more time consuming. I’ve got to get them done before going to work. My Saturday long runs will gradually increase to 20 miles. Every training session is important and I can’t blow them off because I’d rather stay up late and watch TV.

I’m not complaining. I’m really enjoying the challenge this goal is providing me. But now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to hit the sack.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

