Food and Friends


I’m still stuffed from last night’s dinner.

My dear friend JoAnn had a few girlfriends over for an authentic, homemade Italian dinner. How authentic? She recently returned from Italy where she visited relatives. Last night she replicated a typical meal she had while visiting the Motherland.

I can be pretty anal-retentive when it comes to tracking my Weight Watchers points. But I decided early in the week I wasn’t going to spend this meal obsessing about how many  points were in this or that. The only boundary I set was to stay away from foods that are for me addictive. So when desert time came, I stuck with the fruit and remained sugar-free.

The food was delicious and the conversation was gut-busting hilarious. The people I was with have known me since I was a 17-year-old college freshman. There’s just something magical about being with people who’ve known each other for so long, a simple word or phrase can spark laughter…no explanation required.

I think every once in a while it’s ok to loosen the belt and enjoy a special occasion meal. (In my case I wore leggings so there was no belt to loosen…instant stretchability was a must.) But I emphasize once in a while. It’s likely to be months before I have a meal like that again.

I’m back on the wagon today after turning down offers to bring home delicious left-overs. I’m not obsessing over going to the gym to work off last night’s calorie-fest. Instead, I’m enjoying the feeling that comes from eating, laughing, and decompressing with a few of my favorite people.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food and Friends

  1. Rebekah Sticht Hayes says:

    Catching up today on your blog, Pam. I’m always proud of you when I follow your journey! I got emotional reading this one because I absolutely agree with the wonderful feeling the magic of true, practically-familial friendships bring. Priceless!!!

Leave a Reply

