Making Dad Proud


For a lot of us, no matter how old we get, we’ll always enjoy…even seek…affirmation from our parents.

My dad and I were a lot alike. Our birthdays were a day apart; he was and I am classically Virgo. That can be a good thing and a bad thing. We fought like cats and dogs, but we always had each others’ backs. Mom often tells me, “You’re just like your dad.” Sometimes she means it as a compliment, and other times, well…

Parents are those special people with whom you can share small victories and they act like the news is the biggest deal in the world. I touch base with mom each week and share my latest weight loss info. I may lose a pound or less, but mom delights as though I’d just landed the cover of People Magazine’s “half their size issue.”

On Wednesday I told mom that I’d lost another pound which brings my total amount lost to 91 pounds. Crossing over from “80-something” pounds lost to “90-something” lost has felt a bit overwhelming to me. Mom’s never had a significant amount of weight to lose, so she and I don’t discuss all of the mental/emotional stuff  that’s a big part of my fitness journey. I don’t expect her to understand what it takes for me to do this because she’s never had to travel down this road. I simply report my weekly results, she cheers, and we move on to another topic. But this week mom had the following response about what I’ve accomplished so far:

“Your dad would be proud.”

That’s all I needed to hear.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Dad Proud

  1. Linda Feagans says:

    Pam I loved reading this. You and I are so much alike. I always did things for my parents approval also. Just last week I realize that I now do things for my children’s approval. After I left our daughter’s house I realized that no matter how much weight I loose or what I do I will never have her complete approval. It may even be as small as the shoes I have on but there will be something that she will pick at. I AM NOT going to let this set my eating into a complete frenzy this time. I AM GOING TO LOOSE 100 POUNDS THIS YEAR! Thank you for your blog and for your words of wisdom.

    • Pam Brown says:

      I can’t really say I do things for my parents’ approval. I do plenty of things mom does not approve of and as long as I live my life in a way that is pleasing to my Higher Power, I don’t spend too much time trying to please others. Having said that, I won’t deny that I get a kick out of knowing mom is proud and dad would have been. Thanks for reading and responding!

Leave a Reply

