Tales From The Trails: The Good


As I mentioned a few days ago, last week the hubs and I spent five days hiking in Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. I had a few cool fitness experiences along the way. There were one  or two scary, glad-to-be-alive hikes. And I had the privilege of meeting a couple of really inspirational people. So today I begin my three-part blogging series, Tales From the Trails: The Good, The Bad, and the Inspirational.

The first hike of the week, Emerald Pass, was basically an opportunity to build strength and to get used to hiking. (When I hike, I use muscles for hours at a time that don’t get used as often during the course of a normal workout week.) We hiked a trail called Emerald Pass.

We hiked all three of these relatively short trails.

Later on Day 1 we hiked a portion of a trial trail called Hidden Canyon. That experience will best be told in Tales From The Trails: The Bad, so I’ll hold off on that.

On our second day we took the longest hike of the trip. The beautiful trail to Observation Point. It was a four mile out and four mile back trail. I’ve always considered myself to be a slow hiker so I was curious about how long it would take to cover eight miles, with four of those being mostly uphill. The literature suggested an average hiker would need five hours. I’ve lost some confidence following a knee surgery two years ago. I made an assumption that if it took the average hiker five hours, I should plan on spending six of seven hours on the trail, therefore holding back my better-than-average hiker-hubs. But to my delight the hike took me….wait for it….

Five hours! It felt great to be average!

Here are a few snaps from that hike.

Observation Point is aptly named. Once we got there, we could see lower mountaintops below us. We felt like we were on top of the world. I felt grateful that I’ve gotten in good enough shape to have made the hike in a reasonable amount of time. After all,

There are just some sights one can only experience on foot.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

