We Like to Hike: Part One


For those of you who like to hike, I highly recommend Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. These hikes are a great way to see some beautiful scenery while getting some great exercise. How great was the exercise? Well, being the data junkie I am, I can actually tell you. I wore a heart rate monitor. I also have a chart that tells me how many calories I burn when my average heart rate is at various levels. I obtained this chart when I had my metabolism and VO2 checked.

I’m proud to report the results of my hiking sessions.

Day 1 = 1,509 calories

Day 2 = 2,480 calories

Day 3 = 1,636 calories

Day 4 = 491 calories (I’ll explain the puny number in a future post)

Day 5 = 387 (this was a quick hike before heading home)

And now…some photos…

Beautiful, yes?

In my next post I’ll share some specifics about the hikes (the good as well as the terrifying).

Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

