The Twinkie Diet


For the past two days I’ve seen media buzz (national news and on-line) regarding a professor who put himself on what he calls “The Twinkie Diet” and lost 27 pounds. He did this as an experiment to see if one can lose weight while eating unhealthy foods. Um…really? He didn’t already know that weight loss is achieved by burning more calories than one takes in?

Sadly, this story is beginning to “grow legs” and I realize I’m helping it along by posting about it. But I found an on-line article that provides more info about Professor Twinkie and sheds a little more light on the diet. It also provides some common sense advise. Click here to read it.

Today I’m taking a detour from my usual posts about my fitness journey. I’m going to get a little preachy…and a bit judgmental.

Americans are getting fatter and fatter. We think we have a right to  eat whatever we want and not face the consequences for our behavior. We gorge on pizza, then take the purple pill to avoid the inevitable heartburn. We don’t exercise, we search for the closest parking spot in the mall lot, and we wonder why we’re out of breath when walking from point A to point B. Our nation is embroiled in a health care debate as Baby Boomers are preparing to hit retirement age in massive numbers. And no one will call it what it is: it’s sick care, not health care. And it’s not only an issue for older Americans. Here in Middle Tennessee, a local youth football association is considering implementing weight limits for players because kids as young as seven or eight years old are so HUGE their tackles are seriously injuring “normal-sized” players.

I am not the food police. If someone at work walks by my office with a plate of food gotten at the department pot luck, I don’t bat an eye. It’s none of my business. And certainly, modern medicine and pharmaceuticals have an important role in our lives. But I’m tired of watching an entire nation be irresponsible with personal health habits, then expect the government to provide each individual with any pill or potion designed to reverse the effects of stupid choices. I have every right to say these things because not too long ago I was once one of those people who made such stupid choices…daily.

Back to Professor Twinkie. I hope he enjoys his “15 minutes of fame.” People are going to use the results of his study to justify their poor eating habits. That’s a shame. I hope he’ll be more responsible when planning his next experiment.

Discuss…

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Twinkie Diet

  1. David R. Williams says:

    I fully agree with your rant….so rant on!!! I have friends and relatives that are battling weight and the side effects of having that problem and they look at me and ask why I’m still the size I was in high school (actually heavier – lean… body mass). I tell them I get off my butt and exercise (something other than a fork), which I’ve done for years, I eat steamed vegetables (gasp), salmon, lean chicken, (double gasps) and limit the amount of junk food to an occasional splurge. At age 49, I ate at a McDonalds for the first time, had to have the menu explained to me.

    But all this is another stupid fad diet that will appeal to the ones that look for that quick fix that will ultimately lead to MORE weight gained after they give up until the next fad comes along…..GET OFF YOUR BUTT, EXERCISE, AND GET OFF THE JUNK FOOD TRAIN TO DEATH!!

  2. Pam Brown says:

    I am a member of VibrantNation.com’s blog circle. I repeated this post on that site. It received the following comment, which I share here with the author’s permission. It’s priceless…enjoy!

    The story in the press the other day about the McDonald’s hamburger that survived unchanged for days or weeks on a window sill reminded me of a trip to the Gulf that I once took with my kids. Someone (not me) brought along Twinkies, and for some reason, the kids thought they were hysterical. They put one out on the rail of the boat, and it stayed there, unchanged and uneaten, for days. Gulls were uninterested. So, going on with the experiment, they started chucking Twinkies in the water. Fish wouldn’t touch them, and they seemed to float indefinitely (and may still be out there with the BP oil). This was the Gulf of Mexico in the late 70s. Gulls, in my experience, ate ANYTHING. Fish swarmed over almost any sort of chum. The Twinkies, after days, maybe over a week, exposed on the boat to sun and sea and kids, appeared fresh and good as new.

    The lesson to the children was better than any I could have taught. As for the professor, I’m thinking that the Twinkies MAY pass through undigested, thereby leaving no nutrition, no value, no possible reason to eat them in the first place.

  3. Dave Soucy says:

    Great post Pam. To be honest, I don’t have too much of a problem with the guy who did the “study”. First, a one-person experiment does not a study make. Second, countless university profs every day get grants to do equally as dumb “studies” in the name of research. Should money be wasted on this? No, but it is what it is. The real problem is that the media reported on this guy like it was legitimate news, and unfortunately a large percentage of the population out there believes anything they read.
    You’re right, this story unfortunately grew more legs than it deserved. We’ve got too many media outlets and not enough real news (well, we do have plenty of real news, but not enough people bright enough to understand most of it) so clowns like this get their 15 minutes. Luckily (sarcasm) something equally or more stupid will come out tomorrow to fill the headlines with and this idiotic story will sail off into the digital sunset.
    All we can do is keep spreading the truth wherever we can…:)

    ~Dave

  4. Chris Felder says:

    And to add one of my peeves, I hate valet parking when the valet lot is 100 feet from the door. In fact I hate valet parking period except under certain circumstances. I can walk from my parked car to the door, thank you. And this Twinkies diet thing is sad because there are some out there who will actually try it.

  5. Thanks for great post!! Pam!!

  6. Pingback: acetaminophen side effects

Leave a Reply

