Taste Buds Can Change


As I write this I’m taking a brief lunch break (but posting at the end of the day).

I was scheduled to have a business lunch today. One thing led to another and those plans were rescheduled. So there I was at the office with no lunch pale, no plans, and money in my pocket. Plus I was starving. As I started thinking about options an overwhelming craving came over me. McDonalds? Krystals? Wendy’s? Pizza Hut? All of these joints are pretty close to my office (Krystals is next door!). But no, my craving was for…

Wait for it…

Salad!

What’s so unusual about that? While I’ve eaten clean 90% of the time for the past year and a few months, I haven’t always wanted to do so. I LOVE fast food. The term “junk food junkie” was coined for me. Eighty pounds ago I ate fast food daily, except when I took a break to eat at a nearby Chinese buffet. Healthy eaters told me to stick with it and assured me my taste buds would change in time. I didn’t believe them. Now I do. While I don’t think I’ll ever stop enjoying the occasional meal at a Mexican restaurant, fast food burgers and fries just don’t do it for me like they used to. But until the last several weeks or so, I hadn’t noticed I now prefer healthier fare rather than choosing it because it’s the right thing to do for my health. Last week my schedule required two “on the go” lunches. I found a little place that sells “gourmet” salads. They were healthy and delicious.

I am so grateful that I hung in there until my taste buds made the change. Change is good. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a salad to finish.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

