Sore Now, Soar Later


I have a history of exercise bulimia and I’m a cardio junkie. If it was worth doing it was worth over-doing and I’ve had my share of over-use injuries. In recent years I’ve been able to sanely and appropriately train for triathlons and half-marathons by using training plans that SOMEONE ELSE designed. No over-doing allowed.

From May 2008 until November 2009 I attended Boot Camp at my Y. Three times a week I was pushed to my limit by a wonderful trainer, Micah Jackson. But when the rigors of triathlon training became time consuming I gave up Boot Camp, promising myself I would hit the weight room twice a week. I didn’t keep my promise. I lifted, but not regularly. And while I lifted heavy weights, they weren’t heavy enough to fatigue my muscles.

Enter Micah. I had a personal training session with her on Tuesday. She was very complimentary of my strength, especially since I hadn’t worked with her this year. But she designed a program that really challenged me.

I realize I really missed working with Micah. She knows when to push me and she knows when I’ve had enough and can’t lift for one more repetition. I did more on Tuesday than I thought was possible.

My plan is to have a session with Micah once every four weeks. She’ll write a program which I’ll follow until we meet again. Then she’ll write another program, and so on, and so on.

I mentioned earlier I’m a cardio junkie. Weight lifting, not so much.  With that I have to be mindful of not underdoing. I’m kinda excited to be rededicating myself to proper weight training. Weight training is the only way I’ll gain nice muscle cuts. And lifting weights is so important for women who want to maintain good bone density as we age. I’m glad to be putting myself in the hands of an expert who will make sure I’m challenged.

Yep, I’m REALLY sore today. But I know this will pay off.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sore Now, Soar Later

  1. Sarah says:

    I saw you working HARD with her on Tuesday. I remember watching you and cheering you on, though you may not have known it. So proud of your hard work and journey!

Leave a Reply

